Hearing aid

Information sur l'aide auditive

Hearing loss

The sense of Hearing is important in such that it creates a link to our physical and social environment. Hearing is assured by an extremely complex and sophisticated ensemble of physical structures that we regroup in what we call the auditory system. The complexity of this system is such that it has only been a few decade, for example, that we have started to understand how the hair cells function in the cochlea.

Different factors may reduce the efficiency and the integrity of the auditory system. Among the most common factors is the aging process, noise exposure, pathologies that affect the middle ear, Ménière’s disease, genetic and congenital causes, etc. There are as many different causes of auditory dysfunctions as there are different medical or surgical solutions. If you notice a change in your hearing, it is important to first talk to your family doctor or see an E.N.T. specialist. (a medical doctor who specializes in the ear, nose and throat).

However, when no medical or surgical solution is possible, or when damage to hearing is permanent – the greatest symptom being the incapacity or the difficulty in hearing soft sounds- , different devices such as hearing aids, amplified telephone, infrared systems and other assistive hearing devices are available to improve the quality of communication and reduce the handicap caused by hearing loss.

The hearing aid, a flexible solution adapted to the hearing loss.

A hearing aid is basically a miniature electronic device that amplify the inaudible or soft sounds which go otherwise unheard or misunderstood by a person who suffers from hearing loss. This devices requires a custom fit in order to match the auditory, cognitive, psychological and physical profile of the person needing hearing assistance. The fitting process, which affects various aspects ranging from the shape of the device, its power and acoustic signatures, the way the technology processes sounds, etc,  is provided in Quebec by a single professional, the Hearing Aid Acousticians.

Different technologies available for hearing aids

When it comes to technology, we refer to the electronic circuit which is located inside the hearing aid and is used to treat the signal that will be heard. Thus, the first type of technology still frequently encountered, and which is available since the 50s, is analog technology. It has benefited from many improvements, particularly in terms of miniaturization of hearing aids, which enable continuous improvement in sound quality.

Moreover, from the late 90s, a completely new and different type of electronic circuit appeared. These circuits process sounds digitally. Because the sound is processed by a computer, this type of circuit allows great flexibility and new opportunities in the way we can manage sounds. These new circuits adapt the resulting sound in function of the changing conditions of the environment.

The following table shows the various categories of hearing aids currently available for the hearing impaired. It is important to note that the category of fully digital hearing aids include a wide range of products, from basic to higher end. The more advanced ones having more advanced features.

In all cases, it important to discuss with your hearing-aid acoustician in order to assess the type of technology within the hearing aid that will best suit your needs.

Table 1 : Different categories of hearing aids

CIRCUIT TYPES  
Adjustment type Analog Digital
Non-programmable Analog potentiometer Digital potentiometer
Programmable Programmable analog Fully digital

Different models of hearing aids

Hearing aids come in different shapes and sizes. The place it is worn will dictate its type. Among the most frequently encountered,  there is the hearing aid that is worn behind the ear. They are called BTE devices. Traditionally more powerful, BTEs are now available in formats that are miniature and very discreet which makes them very much appreciated by first time wearers.  There are also hearing aids that are worn in the ear and that are available in different formats ranging from the bigger full shell type to the smaller canal type which is inserted completely in the ear canal.

In all cases, the choice for the most appropriate format must take into consideration several criteria such as the degree of the hearing loss, the type of deafness, ease of handling, maintenance, desired aesthetics, etc. The selection process is done through active collaboration between the patient and the hearing-aid acoustician. Your hearing-aid acoustician is the professional best qualified to help guide you in making the right choice.

Find a hearing-aid acoustician near you.

APAQ - Association des audioprothésistes du Québec

Contact us

APAQ

730 avenue Taniata, bureau 260
Lévis, Québec  G6Z 2C5

Telephone 1-833-205-1906
Fax 1-514-666-9711
Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Write us  |  Map

Aide auditive

Information sur l'aide auditive

La perte auditive

L’ouïe, de part sa grande importance comme lien avec notre environnement physique et social, est assurée par un ensemble de structures physiques extrêmement complexe et sophistiqué que nous regroupons sous le terme de système auditif. La complexité de ce système est telle que ce n’est qu’au cours des dernières décennies que, par exemple, nous avons compris le fonctionnement des cellules ciliées situées dans la cochlée.

Différents facteurs peuvent réduire l’efficacité et l’intégrité du système auditif. Parmi les facteurs les plus fréquents, il y a le vieillissement, l’exposition au bruit, les pathologies de l’oreille moyenne, la maladie de Ménière, les causes génétiques et congénitales, etc. À de nombreuses causes de disfonctionnement du système auditif correspondent différentes solutions médicales ou chirurgicales. Si vous constatez un changement dans votre audition, il est important d’en parler d’abord à votre médecin de famille ou de voir un oto-rhino-laryngologiste qui est le médecin spécialiste du nez, de la gorge et des oreilles.

Cependant, lorsqu’aucune solution médicale ou chirurgicale n’est possible, ou lorsque les dommages à l’audition sont permanents – dont l’aspect le plus fréquent est l’incapacité d’entendre les sons plus faibles –, différents appareils tels que les prothèses auditives, téléphones amplifiés, systèmes infrarouges et autres aides à l’audition sont disponibles pour améliorer la qualité de la communication et réduire le handicap causé par la perte d’audition.

La prothèse auditive, solution flexible adaptée à la perte d’audition

La prothèse auditive est à la base un dispositif électronique miniaturisé servant à amplifier les sons faibles et inaudibles dans le cas où une perte d’audition est constatée. Cet instrument requiert un ajustement personnalisé en fonction du profil auditif, cognitif, psychologique et physique de la personne à qui il sera destiné. Ce travail d’ajustement complexe, qui touche différents aspects allant de la forme de l’appareil, la puissance et la signature acoustique, la technologie de traitement du son, etc., est assuré au Québec par un seul professionnel, c’est-à-dire l’audioprothésiste.

Différentes technologies disponibles pour les prothèses auditives

Lorsqu’on parle de technologie, on se réfère au circuit électronique qui se situe à l’intérieur de la prothèse auditive et qui sert à traiter le signal sonore qui sera entendu. Ainsi, le premier type de technologie encore fréquemment rencontrée, et qui est disponible depuis les années 50, est la technologie analogique. Celle-ci a profité de nombreux perfectionnements, notamment en matière de miniaturisation des appareils auditifs, qui lui permettent une amélioration constante de la qualité sonore.

Par ailleurs, à compter de la fin des années 90, un nouveau type complètement différent de circuits électroniques est apparu. Il s’agit des circuits à traitement numérique du signal. Du fait que le son soit traité par un ordinateur, ce type de circuits permet une très grande flexibilité et de nouvelles possibilités inédites quant à la façon de gérer le son. Ces circuits adaptent le rendu sonore en fonctions des conditions changeantes de l’environnement.

Le tableau suivant montre les différentes catégories d’appareils disponibles actuellement pour les malentendants. Il est important de noter que la catégorie des appareils auditifs entièrement numériques regroupe une très large gamme de produits, allant des appareils de base jusqu’aux circuits de très haute gamme dotés des fonctions les plus avancées.

Dans tous les cas, il important de discuter avec un audioprothésiste afin de pouvoir déterminer la technologie et l’appareil auditif qui seront les mieux adaptés à vos besoins.

Tableau 1 : les différentes catégories de prothèses auditives

TYPES DE CIRCUITS  
Types d'ajustements Analogiques Numériques
Non-programmable Analogiques à potentiomètre Numériques à potentiomètre
Programmables Analogiques programmables Entièrement numériques

Différents modèles de prothèses auditives

Les prothèses auditives peuvent être de formes et de dimensions fort différentes. Cela dépend de la partie du corps où elles seront portées. Parmi les plus fréquemment rencontrées, il y a d’abord celles qui se portent derrière l’oreille. On parle ici d’appareils contours d’oreille. Traditionnellement plus puissants, les contours d’oreille sont maintenant disponibles dans des formats miniatures très discrets qui sont particulièrement appréciés des gens qui utilisent pour la première fois un appareil auditif. Par ailleurs, il y les prothèses auditives qui se portent dans l’oreille et qui sont disponibles dans plusieurs formats, allant du modèle pleine conque au format complètement inséré dans le canal auditif, ce dernier étant le plus petit modèle disponible.

Dans tous les cas, le choix du format le plus approprié doit tenir compte de plusieurs critères tels que le degré de surdité, le type de surdité, la facilité de manipulation, l’entretien, l’esthétisme recherché, etc. Ce travail de sélection s’effectue dans le cadre d’une collaboration active entre le patient et l’audioprothésiste. Votre audioprothésiste est le professionnel le plus apte à vous aider à faire le bon choix.

Trouvez un audioprothésiste près de chez vous.

APAQ - Association des audioprothésistes du Québec

Nous joindre

APAQ

2780, Raymond, bur. 215
Saint-Hyacinthe, QC  J2S 5W7

Tél. 1-450-250-4009
Téléc. 1-514-666-9711
Sans frais 1-844-250-4009
Courriel Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Nous écrire  |  Carte